Built in 1850 for Duncan Campbell, who was Simcoe’s first postmaster, the home was known as Lynnwood. In 1902, Duncan’s son Lorne donated the building to the town of Simcoe. In 1972, the building was designated a National Historic Site of Canada and two years later, in 1974, it became the home of the Lynnwood Arts Centre.
Today, Lynnwood Arts is revitalized and looking towards a bright future. An active space for workshops, events, children’s programming, and exhibitions, it is a vibrant, welcoming space that is inclusive and accessible to people of all ages.
It houses a permanent collection that contains over 800 works and features major Canadian artists such as William Ronald, Tom Hodgson, Robert Cadotte, and Alex Colville.